In the state of Florida, having your driver’s license is critical for mobility. In many cases, without the opportunity to drive, citizens of Brevard County, Florida, would not be able to reach work, take their children to and from school, run errands, pursue their passions, and take vacations. Getting arrested on DUI misdemeanor charges can threaten a Floridian’s ability to drive, upending their life and those of their family members.
If the charges associated with your Brevard County DUI crime are characterized as a felony, this can lead to even more severe consequences than having your driver’s license revoked. Therefore, it’s critical to have a Florida criminal defense attorney who is experienced in working with drunk driving defense cases. That way, you can be informed about your rights and work toward building a strong defense that is personalized to your case.
In Brevard County, DUI charges are classified into both misdemeanors and felonies. A misdemeanor DUI offense happens if you are arrested for drunk driving a first, second, or third time. For the highest misdemeanor DUI offense, you can face up to one year in jail and up to $5,000 dollars in fines. In addition to this, you will have a minimum license suspension of 10 years.
DUI felony crimes in Brevard County are even more serious than misdemeanor crimes, and they come with greater associated penalties. In addition, having a felony on your criminal record can impact your reputation and hinder your ability to pursue education, housing, and employment opportunities.
If you are caught drunk driving for a fourth time in Brevard County, FL, then this will automatically be classified as a felony. Additionally, if you are arrested for drunk driving a third time within 10 years of being arrested for your last drunk driving offense, then this will also be classified as a felony.
Regardless of whether you have been arrested previously for a DUI, if you are drunk driving in Florida, and it results in the death or bodily injury of an individual involved in an associated accident, then the charges will be classified as a felony. A felony DUI can have penalties that include having to pay up to $5,000 in fines and spending up to 5 years in jail. You can also have your license permanently revoked.
In the state of Florida, there are some common defense strategies that can be deployed to fight against certain drunk driving charges that you may be facing. It’s important to remember, however, that the right strategy is specific to each case and the associated details. Some common DUI felony defense tactics are:
In addition to these defense strategies, there are other tactics that can be employed, such as showing that an officer deliberately entrapped you into drinking and driving or that you were unknowingly given drugs or alcohol before getting behind the wheel.
An experienced and compassionate felony DUI defense lawyer can:
A: The cost of hiring a DUI criminal defense lawyer in Florida will differ from case to case, depending on the seriousness of the charges, the existing criminal record, and other considerations. The cost can range from a couple of hundred dollars to thousands of dollars, and they may charge hourly rates, periodic installments, or an upfront payment.
A: If you have been charged with drunk driving in Florida, it is highly advisable to hire a trusted criminal defense lawyer who is experienced in Florida DUI law. The sooner that you hire quality legal support, the more likely you are to mitigate the consequences associated with your case. They can represent you in both DUI hearings with the DMV and in court.
A: Florida DUI manslaughter charges, and the associated penalties, are typically different from DUI felony charges. DUI felony charges are typically classified in the third degree and can result in $5,000 in fines and up to 5 years in jail. DUI manslaughter is considered to be a second-degree felony, and it can lead to 15 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.
A: No, you do not have to take a breath test to measure your BAC levels in the state of Florida. However, the consequences can be more significant than compliance. If you refuse to take the test, you will automatically have your driver’s license revoked. Also, you will not be eligible for alternative sentencing options nor be able to eventually get the charges dropped.
At Chang Law Firm, our felony DUI defense lawyers understand how difficult it can be to deal with the charges of a DUI case. You may be worried about the possible penalties associated with your case and how the charges, if you are convicted, could impact your reputation and well-being. Therefore, it is advisable to meet a defense lawyer at Chang Law Firm today to ease your worries and build a defense plan to secure your future.